The Team

Team Leaders

Southwest Research Institute

Southwest Research Institute (SwRI)

  • Institution of the principal investigator, Alan Stern
  • Science team and science instrument payload management

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL)

  • Mission management and development
  • Spacecraft integration and operations

Science Team

Principal Investigator

Alan Stern
Southwest Research Institute

Project Scientist

Hal Weaver
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory

Deputy Project Scientists

Kimberly Ennico
NASA Ames Research Center

Cathy Olkin
Southwest Research Institute

Leslie Young
Southwest Research Institute


Fran Bagenal (University of Colorado)

Rick Binzel (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Marc Buie (Southwest Research Institute)

Bonnie Buratti (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory)

Andy Cheng (Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory)

Dale Cruikshank (NASA Ames Research Center)

Heather Elliott (Southwest Research Institute)

Kimberly Ennico (NASA Ames Research Center)

Randy Gladstone (Southwest Research Institute)

Will Grundy (Lowell Observatory)

Matt Hill (Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory)

Dave Hinson (SETI Institute)

Mihaly Horanyi (University of Colorado)

Don Jennings (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center)

Ivan Linscott (Stanford University)

Jeff Moore (NASA Ames Research Center)

Dave McComas (Southwest Research Institute)

William McKinnon (Washington University in St. Louis)

Ralph McNutt (Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory)

Cathy Olkin (Southwest Research Institute)

Joel Parker (Southwest Research Institute)

Harold Reitsema (consultant)

Dennis Reuter (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center)

Paul Schenk (Lunar and Planetary Institute)

John Spencer (Southwest Research Institute)

Darrell Strobel (Johns Hopkins University)

Mark Showalter (SETI Institute)

Mike Summers (George Mason University)

Len Tyler (Stanford University)

Hal Weaver (Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory)

Leslie Young (Southwest Research Institute)

Team Leads

Pluto Encounter Planning (PEP)

Leslie Young (deputies: Cathy Olkin, John Spencer)

Geology & Geophysics Investigation (GGI) Theme Team

Jeff Moore (deputies: John Spencer, William McKinnon)

Composition (COMP) Theme Team

Will Grundy

Atmospheres (ATM) Theme Team

Randy Gladstone

Particles and Plasma (P&P) Theme Team

Fran Bagenal

Office of the Principal Investigator (OPI)

Cathy Olkin

Team Card Sample

New Horizons
Team Cards

View or download a collection of trading cards »

Major Partners

The Boeing Company
(STAR48B upper stage rocket engine)
KinetX, Inc.
KinetX, Inc.
(Navigation team)
Lockheed Martin
(Atlas V, launch vehicle)
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
(LEISA infrared focal plane (Ralph instrument))
NASA Kennedy Space Flight Center
NASA Kennedy Space Flight Center
(NASA Launch Services Program)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
(Technical analysis, Co-I support and the Deep Space Network)
Stanford University
Stanford University
(REX radio science investigation)

Subaru Telescope
(Kuiper Belt Object search support)